Invitation list announced for World Championship qualifiers

Fifteen-year-old Jackson Page will get the opportunity to qualify for the World Championships – it has been revealed.

Jackson Page. Picture – Eurosport TV

The World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) has announced which amateur players will get the chance to play in next month’s World Championship.

16 amateur players will join 112 professional tour players in the qualifying stages of snooker’s biggest tournament starting Wednesday, April 5. This does not include the top 16 ranked players following the China Open who will automatically secure a first round spot.

Each qualifier will have to win three best-of-19 matches in order to secure a first round place in this year’s World Championship at its home – the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield against one of the world’s elite stars.

Young Welshman Page hit the snooker headlines last month when, despite his young age, he beat two professional tour players to reach the third round (Last 32) of the Welsh Open before losing to eventual finalist Judd Trump.

Since then Page has gone on to win the EASB European Under 18 Championship and reached the final of the under 21 event – once again showing his young promise.

Other notable invites go to last year’s Women’s World Championship winner Reanne Evans who almost beat 1997 world champion Ken Doherty in the World Championship qualifiers two years ago.

Reanne Evans. Picture by Monique Limbos

EASB European under 21 winner Alexander Ursenbacher has earned an invite as has former professional Gerard Greene of Northern Ireland who dropped off the main tour last season.

The upcoming winners of the World Seniors Championship and the EASB European Championships – currently taking place in Cyprus – will also be invited to play in the qualifying competition.


World Championship Qualifiers Invitation List

Jackson Page
Tyler Rees
Ross Vallence
Chris Totten
Jordan Brown
Patrick Wallace
Jamie Bodle
Wayne Townsend
Xu Si (2016 IBSF Under 21 Championship winner)
Alexander Ursenbacher (2017 EBSA Under 21 Championship Winner)
Amir Nardeia (2017 EBSA European U-18 Championship runner-up)- Winner Jackson Page had already earned his invitation
Gerard Greene
Zack Richardson
Reanne Evans (2016 Women’s World Championship winner)
? EASB European Championship Winner
? World Seniors Championship Winner



One thought on “Invitation list announced for World Championship qualifiers

  1. Pingback: Barry Hawkins goes to snooker practise – and forgets his cue! | The Old Green Baize

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s