Ruthless Robertson crowned UK champion for second time

NEIL Robertson reigned supreme in York once again after he was crowned the winner of the UK Championship for a second time.

Neil Robertson. Picture by Monique Limbos

Neil Robertson. Picture by Monique Limbos

Leading 5-3 from an entertaining opening session which saw him make a 147 maximum, Robertson got over the winning line rather comfortably against Liang Wenbo to win the £150,000 top prize.

The Australian has returned to some of his best form in recent weeks after winning the invitational Champion of Champions event and now the UK Championship title beating the likes of John Higgins and Mark Selby along the way.

Robertson has now won eleven major ranking titles moving him level with Chinese number one star Ding Junhui. And he also made history by becoming the first player to make a 147 in a Triple Crown final.

And his latest triumph was fully deserved with his trademark long potting as good as its ever been and his break building to a very high standard. Beating the world number one 6-0 just goes to show how good his game is at the moment.

In a season so far which has seen many of the elite stars yet to hit any form, Robertson is by far ahead of the game and will go into 2016 confident of adding to the eleven major trophies to his name.

However, Robertson did not make the best start to the evening session as a missed blue on its spot as punished by Wenbo with a break of 82 as he reduced his deficit to 5-4.

But breaks of 78 and 52 in frames ten and eleven guided him back to a three frame lead at 7-4 before a run of 78 from Wenbo mean it was 7-5 at the mid-session interval.

Robertson edged closer to glory after the restart with a break of 56 before he then won the next two frames to take the title.

Despite defeat Wenbo will be delighted with the way he has fought back from behind and showed the world on the biggest stage he is a talent to be reckoned with.

His best week in snooker has seen him edge a top 16 spot and secure a debut at next month’s Masters. There’s no doubt the snooker world will be seeing a lot more of him.


R1 – beat Alex Taubman 6-3
R2 – beat Aditya Mehta 6-2
R3 – beat Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 6-2
R4 – beat Stephen Maguire 6-1
QF – beat John Higgins 6-5
SF – beat Mark Selby 6-0
Final – beat Liang Wenbo 10-5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s