Rocket Ronnie named Player of the Year

FOUR-TIMES world champion Ronnie O’Sullivan was named World Snooker’s Player of the Year at the sport’s annual awards ceremony on Thursday.

O’Sullivan was awarded the honour just three days after winning this year’s World Championship title beating Ali Carter 18-11.

As well as Crucible glory, O’Sullivan has also lifted the German Masters title, the Premier League and two PTC events making it a prolific season for The Rocket.

The 36-year-old, whose successes has seen him regain his place in the top ten of the world rankings, was also voted the Snooker Writers Player of the Year by the sport’s leading journalists.

This season’s UK Championship winner Judd Trump also had a night to remember winning the Fans Player of the year – voted by millions of fans from around the world.  

Stuart Bingham took the award of Performance of the Year for capturing his first world ranking title by beating Mark Williams 9-8 in the final of the first ever Australian Goldfields Open.

Belgium sensation Luca Brecel, 17, won the gong for Rookie of the Year after becoming the youngest ever competitor to qualify for the World Championships last month.

This year’s magic moments award went to Stephen Hendry for his brilliant 147 break against Stuart Bingham in the first round of this year’s World Championship. Hendry announced his retirement from the game just a week later after his quarter-final loss to Stpehen Maguire.

Ronnie O’Sullivan, John Higgins, Mark Williams and Walter Donaldson were also added to the sport’s Hall of Fame for winning the world title on more than one occasion.

It was revealed at the awards ceremony at the Dorchester Hotel that more than £110,000 has been raised this season for World Snooker’s selected charity Haven House – including £25,000 donated by Betfred, sponsors of the World Championship.

Full list of award winners:
World Snooker Player of the Year: Ronnie O’Sullivan
Snooker Writers Player of the Year: Ronnie O’Sullivan
Fans Player of the Year: Judd Trump
Rookie of the Year: Luca Brecel
Performance of the Year: Stuart Bingham
Magic Moment of the Year: Stephen Hendry’s 147
147 Club (players making a 147 during the season): Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mike Dunn, David Gray, Ricky Walden, Ding Junhui, Jamie Cope, Matthew Stevens, Marco Fu, Robert Milkins, Stephen Hendry
Hall of Fame inductees: Walter Donaldson, Mark Williams, John Higgins, Ronnie O’Sullivan.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s